Welcome to the BCSM Community!  

Home of the #BCSM Tweetchat

There are tons of conversations online every day about cancer,  but’s there’s only one #BCSM.  #BCSM – breast cancer social media – is a dynamic online network and community dedicated exclusively to women and men affected by breast cancer.  The #BCSM  conversation began on July 4, 2011 at 9 pm ET on Twitter, the social media platform,  with this simple question: what brought all of you here tonight for #BCSM? What do you hope to learn, gain or share?

Since then we’ve logged more than 620 hours of dedicated conversation about breast cancer survivorship, research, culture and treatment.  #BCSM’s mission – to help support, empower and inform women about issues related to breast cancer — is accomplished by helping women affected with the disease out of the isolation treatment can create.  Every Monday night we talk about breast cancer issues for an hour. We invite experts or clarity and perspective.  Week by week, side by side.

The #BCSM difference:
  • All-Inclusive: #BCSM is one of the few healthcare chats with a steady and supportive base of physicians, including medical oncologists, radiation oncologists, and breast surgeons
  • Evidence-based:  the moderating team includes a board certified breast surgeon and “recaps” of clinical conferences are part of the schedule
  • Transparent:  the moderators volunteer.  #BCSM is self-funded, represents the best in “peer to peer” health care
  • Devoted Followers:  the blue ribbon goes to the women and men who participate.  They are honest, supportive and caring even when they disagree.
Stop by!   Join us on Twitter every Monday evening at 9 pm ET/8 pm Central/6 pm Pacific.  Real conversation in real time.